Topic: Some say that sports play an important role in society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Do you agree or not?

In recent years, it is true that sport plays an integral part in our lives. Although many people believe that the practice of sport only brings recreational values, sport is far more than a luxury or a form of entertainment. Sport has always been the exercises to foster individual physical and mental development. First, by regularly doing sports, either indoor or outdoor ones, people can maintain their health. In fact, sports activities, such as the gym or jogging, can enhance metabolism of the body in a proper way and strengthen the immune system, which helps prevent diseases and lower risk of heart disease, stroke and diabetes. Second, sport helps players build their social skills. For example, athletes are required to have strong team spirit, effective cooperation and respect when playing team sports like football or volleyball, which in turn not only are conducive to their working skills in a larger context like the workplace, but also make them get socialized. In addition, it is true that sport is also of great benefits to society as a whole. First, sport and physical activities provide one of the most cost-effective forms of preventative medicine. This means that participation in sport contributes to people’s ability to lead long and healthy lives, resulting in the potential to dramatically cut health care costs of a nation. Second, sports are considered as an international language as it brings people together in a way that can cross boundaries and break down barriers. For example, Olympic opens the door for everyone, not only for athletes but also for global citizens, to show their patriotism by passionately cheering up their teams, and to gain deeper understanding about the culture in every host country. In conclusion, sport makes significant contributions to both people and society in different ways. By acknowledging its important role, governments can find ways to promote this activity to their people.