In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In Britain many aged people live in old age homes where their living and health care costs are usually borne by the government. This increases the burden on the public exchequer and is not a practice. Hence, in my opinion, adult children should take the responsibility of their aged parents. The authority will be under a tremendous financial strain if it has to look after the growing population of senior citizens in the country. In order to provide good health care to older people, the ministry collects enormous amounts of taxes from its citizens. As a result, workers get to save only a small amount of money. However, if the liability is on the family, the government need not have to collect higher taxes for the purpose of elderly care. In other words, people can enjoy good income and the authorities can concentrate on improving other weaker aspects of the nation. Furthermore, when the family pays for the care, they take care to visit their parents frequently to see whether they are receiving good health care. Else, the family will not bother to care because they are not paying for the expenses. In addition, the parents also benefit also benefited from this arrangement as they get to unite with family often which can assure them an emotional support. For example, in Sikkim, a north-eastern state of India, there is a rule that the elderly people should be taken care of only by the family. In conclusion, I think, it is the responsibility of the family members to take care of the health expenses of their aged parents so older old people receive support from their children and the government is also not overburdened with elderly care