In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The concept of living in retirement homes and living with people with similar age group where personal support workers are taking care of them has grown widely. Although, most of these people do have a family and their family member also pays fees, sometimes, the government has to provide financial support to such places. The question of who should provide financial support to these retirement homes has always been the topic of debate, I am going to discuss the reasons why the government should provide monetory support and why the family member of these people should pay for them. Firstly, the government is responsible to support such places because, this older generation has paid taxes all their working life, and now is the time for the government to take care of them and help them in their 2nd inning of life. Secondly, not all these elderly people are coming from wealthy families and their families are not capable of providing them with both financial as well mental support and that's the reason why the government should help them by building and sponsoring these old age homes. Lastly, these elders are important asset to the society and community, and the government should play their part on helping these people. Although, I firmly believe the government should help, I also think that the families should contribute as well. Because, all these younger generation is living healthy and peacefull life because of their parent and grandparents, as they are the ones who nurtured them, and make them become a better people. Furthermore, in their time, these senior citizens helped their children growing up so, now it is their turn to expect the same. In countries like India, the concept of living in retirement homes for senior is still not widely accepted as, people still believe that these senior citizen should not be living alone and it is their responsibiity to take care of them. To sum up, I strongly believe that family should provide as much support as possible all along with the government should also help them financially.