In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Irrefutably, a lot of British senior citizens are residing in the old age nursing homes and are left to be taken care of the nursing staff there. The expenses are usually borne by the governmental authorities. Owing to the arguments like old people have paid taxes for ministry throughout their life and incapacity of some families to sponsor their elders, this essay vehemently supports that such cost should be incurred by the authority. At the outset, the elderly people have worked for the nation's economy and paid taxes to the national treasure throughout their working life; therefore, the state has the obligation to provide them support during the old age. The nation enjoys the revenue in the form of taxes and this is the right time for them to pay back to its citizens, who are aged and out of the workforce. For an instance, a 2019 study by Stratford University revealed that an individual earning the average per capita income in Britain pays $ 200, 000 in taxes in 40 years of his working life, which can cover up the old care bill of 20 years for an individual. Furthermore, the financial status of each family varies, and some families are incapable of meeting the medical and living expenses of their parents, so ministry should intervene and lend some support. The living expenses are on a hike and there is not much raise in the salaries to cope with the inflation rate. To exemplify, a 2018 census conducted by United nation revealed that 64% of the English families are unable to financially support their parents with their current salaries. To subdue, it can be concluded that due to the past contributions made to governmental revenue from the old people and the inability of their kids to bear their expenses, government should finance their nursing home stay.