In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Old-people’s home is a popular accommodation for the retired and elderly folks in Britain. They are well equipped with adequate facilities and specially trained nurses who cater to them. There is a growing discussion about who is responsible for the upkeep of these folks housed in the homes. While some say it is the responsibility of their family, others argue that payment should be billed to the government. This essay will discuss why the families should be responsible for paying the bills incurred by the elderly folks in the nursing homes. Caring for an elderly parent can be physically demanding and emotionally draining to children. In most cases, these children are grown-up and have families of their own who require their immediate attention. Therefore, it becomes easier to send their aging parents to an old people’s home where they would not only be taken care of my trained nurses, but also have a community of age-appropriate peers. These services come at a huge cost and often times becomes a burden to the family especially in cases where the aged parent have chronic health conditions which require specialist care. For example, Alzheimer’s is one of the most common and most expensive diseases that old people have. Therefore, people expect that the government will step in and use the tax that they have contributed over the years to pay for their comfort in their old age. In my opinion, people fail to realize is that the care of an aged parent is the responsible of a child and immediate family member. The government is responsible for building hospitals and subsidizing the fees to senior citizens. The decision to retire to an old people’s home is a personal one and should therefore be billed to the individual and his family. As a parent, you revolve your whole life around your family and children. Working and toiling to ensure they are well fed, have a roof over their head, have a good education and so on. It is therefore expected that upon reaching the age of retirement, the care would be reciprocated. Therefore, families who decide that their aged parents should be placed in a home need to sort out their finances and ensure it is a decision they can afford. This is often the case as most working adults contribute a portion of their salary into a pension fund which they presume will be used to care for them when they are old and eventually retire. This alleviates the financial burden that their care will have otherwise incurred and it makes it easy for the family to afford the payments.