In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Senior citizens played a pivotal role in the growth of Britain's economy when they were young. While some people believe that it is the job of the government to pay for the eldercare, others maintain that their family is the one who should be responsible for it. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints in depth and argue why it is the duty of the government to care for old people. First and foremost, an average citizen dedicates 50 years of his/her life to boosting Britain's economic growth before their retirement. For instance, majority of the direct and indirect taxes Britain earns comes from its own citizens. Therefore, the government is obligated from an ethical as well as a moral standpoint to serve its citizens when they retire and can no longer work. One can say that, it is the least the authorities can do for someone who took part in the growth of the country for the majority of their lives. On the other hand, it is the obligation of the family of an old person to provide for them as they age. However, due to the high costs involved with the old age homes, not all families can afford it. Hence, governments should step in and cover their expenses as it imparts a severe financial burden on the families. In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons why the government should look after its senior citizens and why their family might not be able to support for their welfare. In my opinion, it is the primary responsibility of the government to take care of the aging population irrespective of the family support they receive.