Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, naot individuals because individuals can do too little.

There is an on-going debate that the authorities should be responsible in protecting the environment and not the citizens who are rarely capable for this role. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view. To begin with, taking up responsibilities as much to do with strengths and abilities. In other words, a person can effectively carry out a task only if he or she is capable to achieve it. It is obvious that the government are often well-equipped with all necessary tools to environmentally protect the country such as income from tax(fund), aids from developed countries (expertise and equipments) and so on. Therefore, it would be unfair to saddle a common citizen with huge responsibilities such as environmental protection that is naturally the duty of elected-government officials. Making the environment clean and habitable should be the one of the major aim of the state. This is due to the fact that these officials can conveniently provide all equipments and services to make the environment better and worth living in; by providing waste bins, establishing recycling facilities, creating drainage systems and so on. Another point to consider is that the environment can only be protected if the citizens are well informed about how to make their environment clean and threats of unsafe environment. However, it is the duty of the government to enlighten the individuals on how to protect their environment by using social media, television and radio stations. For example, in China, there is a government-sponsored program which daily educate the people on proper disposal of waste and even on waste recycling. As a result of this, many citizens often dispose their refuse in an eco-friendly manner and this, in turn, makes the country free from environmental pollution. In conclusion, governments should independently carry out the duty of protecting the environment, as the citizens have no adequate facilities to do so.