At the present time, the population of some countries include relative large numbers of young adults compared with the number of older people Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give the reasons for your answer and include any relative examples from your own knowledge or experiences.

Certain countries house a large population of young people, which is often viewed as beneficial. This essay will illustrate the advantages as well as the disadvantages of having a young population through the examples of demographic dividend and how a traditional mentality can lead to overpopulation. In a country with a predominantly young population, there exists a phenomenon called demographic dividend. Young people cannot work from ages 0 to 15, so when they can, there would be a large number of working people. This means that they can now afford to take care of and provide for adolescents, older people, and the unemployed. Consequently, the country can now exploit the surge in economic growth due to the large working class, essentially profiting all parties involved. For example, India economy is heavily reliant on the benefits its population’s demographic dividend will provide due to its overwhelmingly large population. However, there are drawbacks when the age structure of a country is not aligned and one sector outweighs the other. Since the number of people working is increasing rapidly, the number of dependents too are simultaneously advancing. To elucidate with the example of India, people desire to have more children in hopes of being not only tended to when they reach their retirement age, but also to have more hands helping around the house or at their work place. This mentality is the crux of India’s detrimental population problem. This cycle is only perpetuated with time as the importance of young people being synonymous with productivity is being emphasised across the world. To conclude, having a young population is a positive concept only when peoples’ reasoning for procreating is not eclipsed by their backward mindset. If the latter occurs, it can easily deteriorate the state of a nation through overpopulation.