Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Recent informative documentaries show that vacant lands are scarce in our cities nowadays. Thus, there is a need to escalate development to the countryside. In spite of the popular belief that these areas should be protected from many new buildings, I am of the opinion that we should construct more homes there. To begin with, flooding the countryside with new homes will result to more employment opportunities. It is widely agreed that the more the people in an area, the more the jobs to be performed. Hence, the construction of additional residential structures in the countryside can attract men and women, with the vision of setting up companies, factories, in these regions. For example, the city of Port Harcourt, Nigeria, was never a busy town with employment opportunities. It got this potential when more people started coming in with new houses. Secondly, development would be achieved. This is because the owners and occupiers of these abodes would in turn, set up economic buildings like schools, small and medium scale enterprises, banks, etc. With these businesses and organizations in place, investors are attracted. When they come in, they set up additional places that could enhance the quality of lives of citizens. Social amenities like electricity, good roads and clean water, would become a reality. Consequently, education in those areas is transformed. The result of this is that more parents would be interested in sending their children and wards to those schools. It is only development that can turn a remote village into a city. In conclusion, I strongly believe that constructing more new homes in the countryside is a positive idea. It will bring about employment as well as development.