If you have an opportunity to send your child to study abroad, would you have him/her educated in the US or in your home country?

Increasingly, experts are emigrating to developed nations from poorer ones. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problem caused by this phenomenon is the resulting brain drain for the countries they leave, and then submit increased investments in education as the most adequate solution. The foremost problem caused by experts' emigration to richer countries is brain drain. This is because experts perform various functions such as teaching and providing medical care, which can contribute to building the economies of their countries of origin. Teachers and lecturers, for instance, carry out the crucial tasks of grooming current and future brain power. Consequently, if the performers of this critical function exit a country in large numbers for greener pastures, that country's economy can become weaker. To illustrate, a report released by the United Nations in 2018 shows that countries with the highest rates of economic migration such as Iran and Nigeria, have also reported a progressive decline in their annual GDP between 2009 and 2017. A viable solution to this therefore, would be for governments experiencing a significant reduction in their workforce to invest more in education. The reason for this is that schools at all levels are usually the tools for churning out creative minds and the stronger a nation's educational institutions are, the more capacity it has for producing and reproducing a skilled labour force. For example, after the Ghanaian government began to allocate over 20% of its annual budget to education from 2001 in line with the UN's recommendations, its skilled workforce population has grown steadily by at least 9% annually even though the exodus of skilled citizens to the west has generally continued. In conclusion, a large number of professional workers leave less developed countries for more advanced ones, causing a significant reduction in skilled manpower. This essay has suggested that this can be solved when the governments of these poorer countries increase their funding for education.