if you had to travel to a location 50 miles away, which mode of transportation would you prefer: automobile bicycle or train?

At a very young age, children learn by imitating adults' behaviour or things around them. They are not yet able to distinguish between right and wrong. To help kids learn the differences, punishment is often thought to be an effective teaching method by some parents and teachers. However, it is also argued that this method would negatively affect children. In my opinion, punishment is a useful method of moral education as long as it does not badly affect children physically and mentally. To begin with, using corporal punishment would not help the children learn from their mistakes. In contrast, they can even have a negative impact on children physically and mentally. When parents hit their children, the children would feel hurt or even have scars. If this kind of punishment frequently repeats, the children would become insensitive, and this could destroy the bond with their parents. Another example is that, at school, some children are often forced to receive harsh punishment in front of the class for their mistakes, which is humiliating and has little educational value. Hence, parents and teachers should choose appropriate ways to teach good behaviour to children. Parents can opt for educational punishments such as giving them housework, setting a limit to their recreational time, or reducing their allowance to avoid wasting money for useless activities. Teachers, similarly, should not reinforce corporal punishment or humiliation, but alternatively should give discipline sanctions such as warnings, demerits, and academic probation to students who violate rules according to the seriousness of the situation. Effective disciplinary means like these could teach children to form better moral judgements without harming their mental and physical health. In conclusion, punishment is essential to educate children how to differentiate between good and bad things. However, physically and mentally harmful punishments have to be avoided. Constructive punishments are recommended instead.