If a product is sold and people buy it then advertising is not necessary and can be considered a kind of entertainment with this

When marketing and sales of a product is continual, even booming, it is thought that the necessity of advertisement is pointless and can be perceived as a sort of entertainment. However, in my opinion, advertisement has a significant role in business by securing the existing customers and ensuring trust and brand value of the product or the company involved. While some products are bought and sold at a continual rate for some time, there is a high risk of losing customers because of the high competition in the market. Recent studies show that many companies lose existing customers, thus incurring huge loss for them. Even the products which enjoy monopoly with few or no competition, faces the same consequences because of the huge abundance of products in the market. Advertisements ensure trust and brand value of the existing product thus securing its place in the market. For instance Pepsi was dominating the market for many years until other soft-drink products such as Coca-Cola took a large share of its market. In addition, the smart-phone industry has ever-changing upgrades every week, thus launching new products every month which, spread by advertisements becomes very informative for the consumers. Advertisements also spread information about similar type of products, thus helping the society and the consumers aware of the best available products in the market and their new features. For instance, the Samsung mobile phones recently launched dual-camera smartphones in competition to the Vivo smartphones at lower cost, thus spreading the relevant information to the buyers. To conclude, advertisements plays a pivotal role in securing its customers, continual sales of product apart from spreading necessary information to the buyers. While it may seem to be a form of entertainment to some people, however, it has wider implications towards the society and business.