If a product is sold and people buy it, then advertising is not necessary and can be considered a kind of entertainment. Do you agree or disagree with this?

Marketing and advertising have always been a vital part of the sales process. However, some people believe that advertising is not useful if a product can be sold easily. There is also a consideration that if this case happened, advertising will be lost its main function and can only be regarded as entertainment. This essay will discuss the functions of advertising itself and provide some arguments about why I disagree with the statement above. To begin with, advertising has several functions, for instance introducing products to the market, creating a brand image, and increasing sales. There are several products that are not necessary to be advertised because they only reach peak fame. For example, a luxury watch brand called Rolex. However, in general, advertising a product can give some beneficial impacts as mentioned before. Furthermore, studies have shown that even if a particular product is widely consumed, using adverts will encourage more people to buy and, increase the success of the business. On the other hand, advertising encourages loyalty among customers and increase their trust in the company. This would limit any competition from other manufacturers who wish to produce similar products. For instance, the charming and continuous advertising of Pepsi and Cola has made it the dominating soft drink brand despite the fact that several other companies are trying to involve in the same industry. Thus, the role of advertising extends beyond providing entertainment. It builds brand value and recognition. To conclude, I disagree with the opinion that advertising is unnecessary and only a kind of entertainment. I believe there are some benefits of advertising a product if we set a long-term and sustainable goal, not only simply sell the product, but also build a brand image.