IELTS WRITING TASK -2 Sending criminals to the prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training more are better ways to help them. with thi

From the time immemorial, it has been a matter of debate how a criminal be punished. Of course, there are people who advocate one way or the other but in my view, we need to find a middle path to make sure that the punishment on the one hand, deters the potential criminal and on the other, it helps to reform the people involved in illegal activities. First of all, we need to differentiate between the crimes which shock our conscience and the minor ones. I strongly believe that punishment and in some cases, severe punishment is the only way out to deter the people committing crimes which are against life, liberty and humanity. What I mean by this is that we should adequately punish the wrongdoers when they are involved in heinous crimes such as gory killing, cold blooded murder, rape, arsons out of vengeance etc. In contrast to such views, I hold a slightly different opinion when the crimes are petty and born out of compulsion or some grave circumstances. That’s why I believe that the minor crimes like pickpocketing, thefts where the motive of commission of such crimes is to sustain one’s family should be treated differently. An opportunity to reform should be given to such person committing such minor offences. We cannot change our society by crowding our prison cells. Imparting education and providing quality jobs are prerequisites of reforming such people. Therefore, in my conclusion, I would like to summarise my viewpoint that education alone can help to move people away from the criminal world. The punitive measures should be adopted only in case of serious offences.