TPO5. People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, doing things they like to do, rather than doing things they should do.

Modern technology has changed the perspectives of people towards personal enjoyment compared to that of people in the past. Some believe that modern people reluctantly carry work they feel obliged to complete. On the other hand, others have the opposite viewpoint, arguing that these days, people are more involved in their professional work than their personal hobbies. As far as I am concerned, I hold the former opinion, since advanced technology has eased the professional work and helped people to have more leisure time. In the following argument, some evidences are addressed to substantiate my point of view. To start with, advanced technology has made professional jobs much easier than the blue-collar jobs in the past. Most jobs, are now performed with the help of advanced computers and automation systems. This means that modern people are not required to undertake physical activities to fulfil a handy job, which was common in the past. I remember a first-hand experience here. My Grandfather, lived in Yazd, a city in Iran, is a farmer who prefers to use the old agricultural techniques and due to physical activities of gardening, animal husbandry and irritation, he has barely travelled probably once every five years. On the other hand, my uncle, lived in Australia, has used the state-of-the-art machineries which enable him to have more spare time. As this example clarifies, people in the past could not engage in personal hobbies as much as today’s people on account of limited technology were available in the past. In addition, nowadays, there are various kinds of leisure activities, and technology has enabled people to have time to try things they prefer. One of the most common personal enjoyments is travelling. Modern airplanes and automobiles have caused a tremendous reduction in travel time. Continental travel is now possible, and travelling has now become as a fashion. These days, people generally live better off compared to the past. Therefore, they can afford flight fees while in the past people neither could afford long distant trips nor was the technology well-developed. It can undoubtedly understand from this explanation why currently we are inclined to personal hobbies considerably more than our ancestors. On the other hand, some may say that because of high amount of works and the related pressure and stress, modern people concentrate on their professions more than having leisure times. They are now forced to keep pace with the working environment which results in having less time for their personal enjoyments. I am against of this notion as technology enables employees to perform their job even in their home. These days, there are various kinds of companies where job seekers can choose whatever job they like to apply. This option was rare in the past due to the lack of available job market. Furthermore, distance learning has made education more convenient and students can choose between a huge range of universities and schools to continue their studies. So they can have enough time for their hobbies. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people are more engaged in personal enjoyment, tending to have different options for everything from sport and leisure activities to availability of jobs.