TPO 8. Television advertised directed towards children (aged two or five) should not be allowed.

Without any shadow of doubt, the media has profound impact on modern people, especially young generations. Some think that there should be restrictions on advertisements, targeting children up to five years old due to the serious impacts these kinds of advertisements have on them. Others, on the other hand, have the opposite viewpoint, believing that there is not necessarily to impose restrictions on such advertisements. As far as I am concerned, I hold the former opinion since these kinds of advertisements are physically and emotionally harmful for children who are very impression, . In the following argument, some evidence is addressed to substantiate my point of view. To start with, television advertisements aiming young children have detrimental effect on children' s health. Most advertisements shows interesting and inducing scenes of unhealthy foods such as chips and fast foods, stimulating children to eat these foods. When parents bring their children to a supermarket, every now and then, children insist to convince their parent to buy for them chocolates, chips and biscuits. Suffice to say that, fast food restaurants such as McDonalds and KFC contribute millions of dollars for advertisements in TV and as a result both the young generation and parents like to try foods in these restaurants rather than eating homemade food which has much more ingredients and vitamins. Airing advertisements also encourage children having sedentary lifestyle. Instead of going out and playing with other children, they sit in their home and watching TV advertisements since these programs are very attractive for them. If parents and the government as a whole like to have well-being future generation, they should control children watching advertisements. As all these examples have clearly shown, advertisements have serious effects on the health of our next generations and there should be some restrictions regarding broadcasting advertisements which target children. In addition, advertisements have adverse impact on social development of the children if they air without suitable control system. Nowadays, children reluctantly engage in conversations and they are inclined to play with their IPad or watching TVs. TVs programs especially advertisements has caused children to be isolated themselves. Consequently, children cannot make connection with the others, the trend which will have detrimental effects on their future life as an adult. Moreover, some advertisements show aggressive and action scenes which motivate aggressive and unacceptable behaviours. All these effects would have serious ramifications for our children. Therefore, putting ban on advertisements goes a long way towards having mentally grown up people who can engage in social activity and use their time more efficiently. Some may claim that advertising industry is an integrated element of having a successful business. However, most of the promising and profitable companies gain their reputation from providing high quality and state-of-the-art products rather than waste millions of dollars for advertising their products in TVs. It can undoubtedly understood that without a proper restriction, we cannot expect having mentally healthy and successful people in the future. In conclusion, I do agree with the notion that advertisements targeting children should be banned. This policy will help children to be more sociable and healthier and finally will go along way towards having better and socially acceptable community in the future.