IELTS ESSAY - Nowadays, students find it hard to study at universities compared to school studies. Why this is happening. What is the solution to this problem?

It is universally acknowledged that a lot of students feel difficult in learning when they move from high schools to universities or colleges. There are several reasons for this phenomenon and some measures should be put to reality so as to tackle the problem. It is obvious that the discrepancies in learning styles and lifestyles may be two main reasons for this issue. First of all, in terms of learning ways, the lack of teachers’ management may lead to the diminish in their learning performances. To illustrate, in Vietnam, students in high schools learn a lot of theories, formulas and do homeworks and their teachers evaluate them via these homeworks and tests, therefore, when they enroll courses in universities, they cannot deal with case studies, presentations without the support of teachers. The second cause is that attending universities, students have the freedom to do whatever they want. Indeed, instead of learning at schools and coming back homes with parents, almost students in universities stay away from their homes, so they have more time to hang out with friends, take part-time jobs or become volunteers, which leads to the lack of concentration on study. In order to cope with this problem, both the Ministry of Education and individuals should take some steps. Firstly, it is evident that the Ministry of Education should improve teaching method in high school syllabus. If they design new teaching method like providing more teamwork activities, researching real case studies, and so forth, which can foster students’ autonomy, and their students can be able to adopt new learning environment in universities because of this. The second way is that students should set up scientific schedules for themselves. Owing to timetables, students may organize their daily routine logically and clearly, in the long term, they can balance their study as well as other activities, therefore, learners may not only enhance their academic performances but also become well-disciplined citizens. In conclusion, I believe that because of the difference in learning styles and lifestyles, students fell study at universities is rather hard than high school. That the reasons why both relative bodies and learners should have some actions to counter this issue.