A huge number of students choose to study English independently on a self-study basis rather than attend a formal course. However, without the assistance of a teacher, students often find it difficult to manage their studies.

At recent years, the vast growth of technology relating to the internet, social media, etc. leads us to learn English easily because the contents are always useful for self-learning at home. However, teacher and class study are found to be beneficial in some ways to maximise the result of learning English. Throughout this essay, an intermediate position can be taken through some considerations given underneath. I believe, self-motivated learning can be more productive by setting goals, the manners in the study process, and the time management. By self-prompting, students or learners can put themselves to the high level of learning by printing modules, looking for needed recordings, collecting movies and watching them, downloading and listening to certain songs, or even doing some chats online with mates living in Western countries. As a result, students can do several things that are urgent to improve several skills which are lack independently and ignore few unnecessary things not to be done. However, as human being commonly, most of the people seem to be inconsistent to deal with individual learning. They need accompanies from teachers and classmates not only to enrich knowledge in class progress but also to gain established goals together. By working for tasks, assignments, and presentations students will not have much free time to conduct wasteful activities motivation to attempt self-study hardly. It is a truth that most people feel convenient to learn in silent, but comfort, in some ways, causes laziness and as a result, people cannot accomplish the English learning. That is why teachers are always needed to be involved. To sum up, I believe that both ways of learning have benefits and drawbacks, therefore, combining them together, without superiority one over another, will be extraordinary relevant to learn English effectively.