How do movies or television influence people’s behavior? Use reasonsand specific examples to support your answer.

Over the years, there has been a tremendous increase in the rate at which criminal activities are being infiltrated. Although it is believed by some people that the ultimate penalty for such offences should be death, others think that the government should inculcate other means of punishment. In my opinion, I agree with the former assertion as this would help put criminals in check. On the one hand, it is believed that a death penalty should be awarded to all offenders because it will reduce criminal activities and I agree. This is because it will limit the number of such crimes being committed. Also, punishments like this will serve as a warning to other intending perpetrators to desist from such practices. To illustrate, ever since the Iraqi government slated the death penalty for all crimes, the crime rate dropped from fifty percent to fifteen per cent within a space of two years. This reemphasizes the need for such laws in order to maintain peace in the land. On the other hand, the government should have a fairer system such as the rehabilitation of criminals as not all criminals deserve to be killed. Community services, rehabilitating criminals are few methods that the state can uphold in order to punish them. This not only helps foster a more balanced judiciary system, but also goes a long way in reforming the offenders and getting back on their feet. A good example of such measures is the introduction of community services for milder offences by the Lagos State government. Not only did this help keep the state sane, but it also helped in rebuilding the lives of such criminals. To conclude, while it is advised by some to give a more lenient punishment for certain crimes, it is highly essential to award a death penalty as this will help reduce the crime rate. I, therefore, believe that the reward for all crimes should be death, as this will help breed a safer community devoid of crime and offenders.