Hosting international sporting competitions is good, but few people think this causes too many problems. Explain both views and tell your opinion.

It is commonly believed by most that conducting an international sporting event can cause several problems to the local community while some people argue that the benefits that local people receive from that event in terms of economic are far more than the difficulties. This essay will demonstrate both viewpoints and highlight my opinion for this argument. On one hand, the international sporting event can cause a serious environmental problem such as traffic jam and air pollution in local community due to a large number of participants who join the event. For instance, during the Olympic game in China, it had been reported that the amount of air pollution put young and elderly people to higher risk of lung cancer. In addition, littering that had been produced during the event also cause the local government to spend a large amount of money to destroy and burn those garbage, which results in a large amount of carbon dioxide in the air. On the other hand, tourism and hotel industry as well as local merchants in the country that hosting the sporting competition, also earn high revenue according to international tourists who travel to join the event. For example, the Asean games, which has been conducted in Thailand in 2012, brought more than ten millions of tourists to Bangkok, where the event has been placed. This result in large money flow to domestic economy due to the increasing number of tourists from other countries, namely China, Indonesia and Malaysia to the country. In my view, the international sporting event help boost economy in the country. In the other words, when the economy in the country is strong, people will have a higher quality of life due to higher income per capita. Once the problem of quality of life has been resolved, the government can focus on environmental issues. Therefore, the advantages has been outweighed the environmental issue that it causes to community. In conclusion, establishing the international sporting event may create a lot of environmental problem to the local community; however, the benefits that people will receive from such event is far more than the cons.