Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. with this statement?

There is no doubt that these days nations are being attentive to the sports' importance in order to have healthy citizens who are able to work and produce. However, the question: Do governments have to spend more on healthy sessions instead of sponsoring athletes to take part in the Olympic games? Is being a controversial issue nowadays. In this essay I am going to examine this phenomenon from both viewpoints. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that countries should be presented by perfect players in the Olympics and world wide competitions. The main reason for believing is that the first world countries usually get the first and second ranks in those games while other countries do not get any prizes for any competition or even sometimes they are not nominated to join. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that countries focus on a certain group of young players and sponsor them for years to ensure the perfect representation of their countries. One good example here are some winners in the Olympic games get a lot of money as a result of their winning so they can enjoy something different than others. On the other hand, it is possible to consider it with the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact countries, governments should spend more on sports programmes than competitions. People often have this opinion because whenever they invest in the public health and lifestyle, immediately there will be perfect athletes to take part in various games, but the opposite is not applicable. Moreover, creating a healthy nation starting from students and ending up by adults and older people will have a better future effect. A good illustration here is Kuwait. The government is trying to build sports centres in each area and encourage kids to join. Then they are nominating a small number to participate in competitions and games. As a result, the awareness about maintaining a healthy lifestyle all the time is increasing and no need to focus on certain people to push them to participate. To summerize, public health is a major issue nowadays and it does not matter if the country is participating in Olympic games or not at the end it is just a competition. However, having healthy citizens with a high level of awareness is better and I tend to believe that countries should spend on creating the best environment for everyone to do sports and stay healthy.