High technology is now being harnessed to help the elderly by providing monitoring, tracking and, perhaps, one day robots as companions. While there are obvious benefits for the elderly in these developments, some people are uneasy about the consequences.

As the result of technology development in medical field, monitoring and tracking by auto machines are now using for giving care to the elderly. Although many people agree that this is a good change for society, I believe that it still has many downsides to take into account before applying. On one hand, we can not deny the fact that the elderly todays are living in a much more comfortable condition than in the past and it will be better in the future thanks for technology. One case in point is the heart rate monitor which helps those older people on understanding and tracking their own heart. Furthermore, those grandmothers and grandfathers often have some subtle health problems which can be solved easily by a nurse robot without make them feel embarrassed. On the other hand, an obvious consequence of these alternative ways of caring is the lack of social communication for those senior citizens. Due to their old ages and physical barriers, they can not have as many relationships as before which can lead to some dangerous mental illness such as depression or paranoia. This problem only can be solved by a real nurse or doctor with their own feelings and emotions, not by an apathetic robot. The other problem is how much we can trust in a machine in doing jobs relative to human health, especially the older ones because our bodies are too complex for it to understand. For example, a headache can be the symptom of various medical disorders: high blood pressure, emotional distress or migraines. In conclusion, it is a good idea of using technology in elderly treatment, but the methods and machines should be tested and checked carefully to reach the best safety quality for human kinds.