Advanced technologies like cell phone tracking and security cameras are being used to monitor people’s activities. In many cases, people who are being monitored are unaware of that and many people oppose the use of such monitoring for this reason. Others, however, say that to track crimes it is important to use such technology.

Technology makes life easy and viable. Gone are the days when people used to use jumbo style instruments to say, hear, view and watch. With the growing changes in technology, one can be tracked with his identity and actions known. In earlier days when people were contacted using telephones, faxes and telegrams. They used to be at one place and their whereabouts were tracked by the phone they respond. If we consider the recent trends in the technology; it has become feasible and transparent, the mobile phones which are used nowadays are backed up by a network which will be connected with the user of the phone. Their connectivity to the network provides access to a person’s mobility and actions, with the usage of mobile phone a person can be tracked and his whereabouts can be known. When we consider the security cameras; cameras installed at certain places provide the information regarding the mobility of persons, the cameras installed at various places not only helps in monitoring the traffic surveillance but also help in nabbing the culprits. If we consider the advantages of these technological developments they are beneficial in averting certain dangerous incidents, definitely the advantages of technology being used in tracking and identifying the suspicious activities are at par. For instance; the security cameras installed in different busy areas survey the movement of suspicious persons and with the help of these footages major calamities/dangerous situations can be averted. The conversation between persons if tapped will certainly help in identifying suspicious activities and saving the aftermath consequences which are danger in nature. As stated above, the use of technology certainly helps but this technology even steals privacy of people without their knowledge, for instance, the security cameras installed in a shopping complex or restaurant monitor the activities regularly without the knowledge of the people/visitors and this is being used improperly. Even the private conversations between people are tapped and are used for illegal means to gain some undue advantage. Certainly, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages but if the disadvantages are monitored and if the technology is practised ethically. The use of technology in monitoring and tracking certainly helps the peace and harmony of a state and country.