He born 5 February 1985 is a Portuguese professional footballer who plays as a forward for Spanish club Real Madrid and the Portugal national team.

In contemporary societies, governments spend a large part of their budget not only on public services, but also the arts. Although I agree that it is important to invest in communal facilities, arts should not be neglected. Without doubt, there are several reasons why public services should be a governmental budget priority. First and foremost, hospitals, roads and schools determine quality of life. In other words, ensuring that a large proportion of government money is spent on public services is the only way to maintain standards and accessibility for everyone. Taking the UK as an example, the government has recently reduced public spending on health and education, resulting in increased waiting lists for hospital treatments and fewer teachers, both of which will have further adverse effects in the future. Nevertheless, there are a myriad of reasons why also the arts deserve financial support. It goes without saying that it is difficult for many arts institutions to generate much profit considering that people are not prepared to pay high entrance fees for places such as art galleries or theatres. Therefore, without some help from the authorities, these places may have to close. In addition, the arts have an important impact on our quality of life, with many people getting great pleasure in going to see music and theatre performances. Furthermore, the arts help to keep our culture and history alive for future generations as seen in operas and theatrical works. To conclude, even though the majority of government spending should be channeled towards public services, spending money on the arts is not a waste and should continue. I am of the opinion that balance is required to ensure public services are maintained whilst the arts remain available to all.