Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time.

Nowadays, the awareness about work-life balance is increasing among the working population. There are people who prefer to earn money at the cost of giving up leisure time. On the other hand, some people value time more than monetary achievements. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and also how striking a balance between these two is important. To begin with, toiling hard for money without having a hobby or resting time is popular in developing countries work culture. For example, in countries like India and Pakistan, it is very common to pick up extra shifts over the weekend to earn extra cash. In fact, people sink themselves in work to the extent of forgetting how to socialize. Although some people prefer this lifestyle due to personal preferences, majority of employees are stuck in this vicious cycle because of financial needs. On the other hand, a set of people strongly believe that earning is only a small part of life. They are ready to earn little less in order to have some additional time to go on a vacation or just to relax at home. In evidence to this, there are nations like France who recently introduced a 6 hour work day officially. Definitely, this will benefit people who pursue education or a sport along with a career. However, people have to be careful that laziness or boredom doesn’t take over their lives in the longer run. To summarize, some additional time is good for pursuing useful hobbies for ambitious people who want to grow outside of their career. This idea cannot be generalized as some people’s interest are work and only work. In order to maintain a healthy, active and satisfying life, it is important for people to have a good balance between work and free time.