Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time.

It is often claimed that having more money to spend is better than having free time or vice versa. Each group, which have different opinions, finds wealth or time to be more valuable than the other depending on their preferences. Some advocate that salary should be considered more important than having more free time. To begin with, by spending most of their time to acquire better incomes most of these people will feel relieved of any economic pressure. Taxes, food, transport and many other goods and services require one to spend most of their salary in order to be fulfilled. However, this could come alongside having tight schedules which might cause stress and a feeling of overwhelm due to the reduced amount of free hours through the day. On the contrary, it could be argued that time is the most valuable resource society has. Many are convinced that having extra time to spend leads to a better and healthier life. Although it is clear that by choosing time over money some benefits might become inaccessible, one can spend most of those spare hours with family, learning new abilities or relaxing after a long day. For instance, while being unemployed J. K. Rowling spent most of her free time writing her famous Harry Potter saga which not only helped her improve her writing but later became a worldwide success. This supports the idea that a well managed free time can improve one’s life. All in all, cash and time are essential to keep a balanced life. Money implies time and effort, and time is worth money, which means both of them go together. It is important to have money to fulfil daily needs while keeping enough spare time to spend without overlooking the other aspects of life.