Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

From the daybreak of human civilization, educations was a vital part. In any education system learning is not enough, there should be a way to evaluate how well students have learnt the subject. To systematically assess capabilities of students grades has been introduced to the education. Many men many minds, so there was a possibility that it could have both propositions excellent and bad on effect of grades to students learning. But in my point of view, grades helps to students to work harder at school. I feel this for few reasons, which I am going to explain in the following essay. First of all, grading helps to measure the student performance. By comparing grades for each subject student can identify his/her strong areas and weaker areas. And then he can put more effort on subjects, that he got low grades. For instance, when I was studying in high school, we had three exams per year. In the first term I got very low marks for history. It helps me to identify that I need to put more effort in history and I worked harder. Which helps me to pass history with flying colors in next two terms. Another paramount reason is grades improve friendly completion among students. Which encourage students to put more focus on studies. My own experience is compelling with this. When I was studying at elementary school, our class teacher gave small presents to students who scores good grades. Because of that in our class students work harder to get good grades, which improved our skills. Without a grades this situation is not possible as there is no way to compare students. That why I believe grades help to create a competition among students which will force students to work harder. On top of that, grades also provide a way to appreciate students’ effort. Students who work harder will receive which can be considered as token of appreciation. Students who does not will receive low grades which is a warning sign for them, which helps them to understand that they should put more effort. If there are no appreciation mechanism then, pupils will not work hard and quality of their learning will reduced and no one will learn anything. My own experience demonstrates this concept. When I was at university, in the second semester we had to do economics as an optional subject. That module was non-graded one. It had an exam. But no one studied for that as it was not going to grade and not going to affect our final grades. After that semester, no one could remember anything learnt from that class. If it was graded then students would have given more attention and learning experience could have become more efficient. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that, grades are necessary in evaluating students in school as it stimulate students to perform well. This is because grading systems is one of the best ways to measure students’ performance while improving competitions among students to work harder. It also appreciate students’ effort.