Governments should spend more money in sponsoring arts than in athletics (like state Olympics team).

It is true that older people have been in a competition with younger candidates when looking for a job in recent years. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, many effective solutions can be taken into consideration to mitigate those problems. As older job seekers compete with younger generations, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that various employers often attach great importance to the difference in ages between candidates as employers prefer long-term staff rather than older counterparts although they have similar qualifications and qualities. As a result, many old people may find it difficult to seek for a job to cover different needs in their lives and support their family. Furthermore, young people may have to face with some problems in some particular situations. For example, youngsters are not able to compete with older employees who have accumulated a lot of work experience as a doctor or other highly specialised jobs which always require candidates with a high level of competence in their fields. Despite the disadvantages given above, the government and individuals should take some immediate actions to mitigate this situation. A simple solution would be for the government to provide sufficient social benefits and change unnecessary policies which prevent older people from looking for a job. By reducing the retirement age from 65 to 60 or increasing the amount of pension for older people, they are no longer under pressure to make money for a living. Another effective solution is that individuals can apply themselves to develop practical skills through part-time jobs before entering the workforce. In this way, they may have more chances to work together with skilled workers in any fields. In conclusion, several problems can arise when older people compete with younger counterparts in the increasingly competitive job market and some productive measures need to be taken into account to address those matters.