Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention.

There are two approaches to handle illnesses around the world. One is preventing it even before people get sick, the other is to treat after people fall ill. Governments spend more money on the latter. I agree that the world governments should spend more on prevention than on cure. When there is a proliferation of a virus, Governments has no choice other than to spend a huge amount of money on the recovery. If no action is taken, it might lead to a major disaster in the society. Governments may argue that its inevitable and cannot be avoided. Apart from that, it's essential for Governments to protect their citizens from any illness or disabilities arising from it, for example, if a person gets into an unfortunate accident, he may not be able to afford a living. Hence, the Government needs to provide some benefits for the disabled. It's the responsibility of Governments to handle all these situations. However, Governments can avoid too much expenditure on treatment by avoiding the illness or injury. It could encourage people to get vaccinated by offering it for free or a minimum charge which anyone can afford. It can also impose strict rules and regulations on industries and factories to make sure they follow a good safety protocol. On top of that, it could make restaurants obligated to follow clean and healthy practices. Finally, it could also provide some benefits like tax reduction for healthcare companies that encourage the insured to follow a preventive care. So it's clear that Government has a plethora of options to improve the health and well being of its citizens. In conclusion, even though the Government is left with no option if an epidemic disease occurs in a society, it can take a lot of proactive measures that will avoid any epidemic or any illness to occur in the first place. So governments should stop spending on treating the illness after it occurred and should concentrate on preventing it altogether.