Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention.

It is often argued that government allocate a lot of budget for curing different diseases instead of spending money on their prevention and creating awareness. I completely disagree with this statement because treatment is a basic necessity for living a healthy and prosper life. It is true that prevention is better than cure so some people suggest that government should spend more budget on creating awareness and providing health education. The genetic diseases such as HIV aids are usually caused by the mutation of chromosomes containing genes that have common ancestors. In other words, children from that parents are more likely to inherit genetic disorders which can result in incurable diseases. For instance, cousin marriages are among one of the main reasons of genetically transferred disorders and research shows that almost 20% of the diagnosed cases are caused by cousin marriages. Therefore, in such cases prevention is the only solution as these disorders are impossible to cure. However, some illnesses such as cancer, diabetes and high blood pressure have no certain preventive measure and in spite of health education these diseases cannot be prevented. Moreover, people suffering from these ailments can only be saved in case of early diagnosis. For example, doctors can only cure cancer when it is diagnosed at an early stage by performing extensive therapies and late diagnosis can be fatal. Therefore, government should spend more money on providing health facilities for providing cure. In conclusion, government should allocate more funds for treating illnesses due to the fact that patients suffering from non-genetic ailments requires a constant treatment and intensive care units in order to save their lives.