Some people think that the government should put a tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to eat more healthily.

It is thought by some that in order to discourage people to eat unhealthy food governments should impose a tax on them. I strongly agree with this idea, authorities should take an action to prevent detrimental diets and malnutrition. Exposing people to pay extra amounts can contribute to a society to eat healthier meals. Governments should take steps to promote protein and vitamin rich diets among its citizens. Otherwise, diseases associated with weak immune system can be more prevalent.  This does not merely result in deterioration of physical health condition, but also non-healthy diets might cause aggressiveness and decrease in brain functions. For instance, a research conducted in recent years suggests that bad eating habits can increase our anxiety and stress levels. There are several means to encourage people to adopt a healthy diet. One approach might be imposing an extra tax on them. In this way, people will be discouraged to purchase those non-healthy foods. Thus, they might spend their money on healthier options. For example, in 2018, UAE government put 5 percent tax on the products which has more than %30 percent of sugar. Another approach might be publishing public service ads on televisions showing the consequences with visual elements in order for people to gain knowledge and be aware of the possible outcomes. In conclusion, eating habits play a vital role in our well-being. I believe that, authorities should take action to deter people from buying harmful products. Putting extra charges on them is an effective way to tackle this issue.