Government should provide free public Transportation facilities 24/7 to reduce traffic congestion.

With the increase in population, the incidences of traffic jam are also rising. Some people argue that the government should provide free public transport to reduce traffic congestion. In my opinion, this measure can solve the problem only to a certain extent. Due to urbanization most people now prefer to reside in cities or towns instead of rural areas. This is one of the main reasons for the high density of traffic on roads. At the same time, due to the advancement in technology, cars have become more affordable and fuel efficient. This has also increased the number of vehicles on the roads. The government is certainly trying to decrease road traffic by making public transportation smooth and speedy. For example, in a highly populated city like Ahmedabad BRTS system has been introduced which facilitates bus stations around the whole city. This bus service can be availed 24*7 by public but it is not free and hence many people prefer to use their own vehicle). Even if public transportation is free, many people will still prefer to use their own vehicles probably because buses and trains congested and less comfortable. What’s more, free public transport will be a burden on the exchequer. In my view, there are several other measures that the government can implement to reduce road traffic. For example, it should build wider roads, construct more flyovers and separate lanes for pedestrians and bicycle riders. At the same time, it should enforce strict traffic laws and encourage people to use eco-friendly modes of transport. To conclude, making public transport free of cost will definitely encourage more people to use it; however, those who prefer comfort and convenience over cost will still continue to use private vehicles and hence it is not an effective way to reduce traffic congestion.