Government should apply tax on unhealthy food to inspire people to eat healthy food which is beneficial for their health.

In many countries, national authorities impose a tax on harmful food. While the tax on detrimental food may minimize its use, it is also likely that people will get motivated towards beneficial food. However, I firmly believe that food not good for health must have high taxes on them to encourage people for healthy food consumption. To initiate with, in order to decrease the use of harmful food, there should be a higher amount of taxes on them, because it will become expensive and difficult to purchase for many people. As a result, it will reduce the use of dangerous food. Australia, as an example, has applied heavy taxes on unhealthy food responsible for human illness. Hence, Increasing the amount of tax on dangerous food items will restrict its usage. Moreover, people purchase more tax-free food as compared to food with tax, because they do not want to pay their valuable money to the government in terms of tax on food items, as they are already paying enough to the government in the form of utility bills. Consequently, they buy items with zero tax on them. In my country, for instance, people had purchased most of the food items which were free of tax last year. So, tax-free food items have more worth than food items with tax. To sum up, governments of different countries had already added tax to food not good for health a few years ago. The use of harmful food can be reduced by applying tax on them and will also motivate people to buy tax-free healthy food. I utterly concur that people will get encouraged to use healthy food over unhealthy food if unhealthy food would have tax on them.