Housing is essential for people. Some people argue that the government should offer free housing for peope who cannot afford it.

In most developed and underdeveloped countries, homelessness is a major problem. Some people believe that the government should provide free accommodation for the poor. I do not agree with this opinion and also do not believe this opinion can solve the problem of housing in these countries. In countries where there are different programmes set in motion to ease off the effect of poverty on the people, provision of free shelter for people may not be feasible. For instance, many governments have invested in providing free education and health care to people, providing free housing might be completely impossible. However, if the authorities can make available low cost houses where the masses will only need to pay a small amount of money for, the level of homelessness might be reduced to its barest minimum. Furthermore, if little or taxes can be placed on houses or land for the poor, many people will be able to afford houses, In addition, lands can be made available to the landless to be used to build small apartments they can afford to maintain. Another way of combating the housing problem is to reduce the prices of building materials which will consequently lead to the constructions of houses with little money. Housing loans should also be made available to the people to enable them to build and pay back conveniently In conclusion, i do not think providing free housing to all poor in the city is attainable, but the government could apply other measures as stated to solve the problem of homelessness and help reduce the effect of poverty on the masses.