A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

In today's world, positions in the society and worldly riches are used to measure a person's value. Making the former criteria like how honourable, trustworthy and kindhearted the person is to appear worthless. In my opinion, I agree that money is a necessity to live a good life. However, I also believe that having a good name is of Paramount importance. Societal ranks and possession are no doubt prerequisites in achieving one's life dreams and aspirations, living a good And healthy lifestyle and so on. In recent times, how far you go in life highly depends on your connection and contacts. For instance, research has shown that 90% of students in Harvard University are wealthy or from wealthy and influential homes. Therefore, having the best things in life means you you need to be influential and have monetary backup. However, "a good name they say is better than riches". A man might not have all he wants when he wants it, but his virtuous nature will definitely earn him respect from people far and around him. For instance, our forefathers were known for their bravery, diligence and so on, and not so much for how many cowries they had. Hence, these attributes should not be over looked. In conclusion, although being influential can be beneficial in today's economy, being that it makes living stress free and enjoyable and open doors to numerous opportunities, I strongly disagree that old fashioned values do not appear relevant. They are in fact, highly appreciated and must be taught to the younger generations.