The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in the society?

It is believed that many individuals persist in smoking although they are aware of the hazards of this. This is due to societal pressure and this can be reduced by introducing an higher tariff on the product. Societal pressure is one of the major contributors to smoking. Most people want to feel and belong in certain social class and this makes them involve themselves in this vice. In a recent survey conducted by World health organization 60% of the youths in Nigeria today are either smoking or involved in drugs due to peer pressure. For example, I recently came across some young teens in a restaurant in lekki smoking tobacco and walked up to them to advice them about the dangers of smoking. In addition, another contributor is experimentation. Most of the chain smokers started out with experimenting and most times get hooked and become addicted. For instance, a recent survey in Northern Nigeria indicates that 80 percent of the youth got into smoking through experimentation. Smoking in the society can be reduced by firstly putting an higher tariff on the product. That is, when an individual want to purchase the product he would be charged the price for the cigarettes or tobacco and an additional 50 percent VAT on the product, this would discourage the individuals from purchasing it. Similarly, they should be a ban on advert of the product. Television, social media and the media in general should be made to stop any advert promoting the sale of cigarettes or tobacco on air. To conclude, smokers get addicted to tobacco and cigarettes by experimenting and also through societal pressure and this can be reduced by making the price of this product high and placing a ban on advertising the product.