Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. ?

These days, the government spends a large proportion of its budget not only on education, healthcare and other public services but also on arts. Although I believe that it is essential to spend money on public services, I do not think that investments in art are waste of money. There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of money in public services. First and foremost, healthcare, educational institution, public transportation and other areas are the main things that the government has to support financially as it predicts the quality of life that citizens will have. If the government doesn’t spend enough money on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. Similarly, if there is a lack of finances in schools, education of next generations can be threatened. Another important point is that the poor can be affected even more as they often have to rely on services that are provided freely for them. Nowadays, we can see that many people living in the USA are struggling to pay even for basic treatment and many would agree that the reason for it is underestimated funding of social and health care system in these states. Nevertheless, it doesn’t mean that arts should be neglected. Art is important to support as it provides people with education and entertainment. Theatres, galleries, museums, operas and other places have an important impact on our society and on people’s quality of life as many of them find a great pleasure in various performances and different exhibitions. In addition, it is often difficult significantly for these institutions generate much profit, thus, they are partly dependant on government support. This is to say that unless the government provides many of these places with donations, many of these buildings might have to be closed. To conclude, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, however, it shouldn’t be at the expense of art.