Genetic modification, a process used to change an organism’s genes and hence its characteristics, is now being used to improve trees. Through genetic modification, it is possible to create trees that produce more fruits, grow faster, or withstand advers

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not genetic modifiction is very benefical for trees. The article strongly postulate that there are many upsides of cultivating genetically modified trees, such as abiltity to produce more fruit, withstand harsh conditions and faster growth. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that the benefits that come from planiting modified seed aren' t that much. However, there are may serious proplem with these genetically modified trees. First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt genetically modified trees have the ability to survive in harsh envrionments. Also, it' s less likely to die from virus infection. Nonetheless, the listening adamantly delinates that genetically modified trees can survive in one condition. In contrast, natural trees can survive in most threaten condition. meaning that some of the natural trees can survive from infection but not all natural trees could survive. On the other hand, genetically modified trees is designed to survive in a particular threat, so if they exposed to different threat all the of these trees will die. The professor in lecture further points out that companies that produce genetically modified seeds would more likely to charge the farmer more than seeds for natural trees. Also, with law the farmer can' t collect their seed. Subsequently, he will pay for the company everytime he plants. These claims refute the writer implication of how genetically modified trees have economic benefits for farmers. The article lastly asserts that there is increase in wood deamand for firewood and building, so using trees that could grow faster to provide wood for humans in short time would result in protecting the natural trees from overexploitation. The speaker in lecture counters these points by declaring that genetically modified trees do more damage owing to the fact that they grow more aggressively compared with natural trees. As a resuklt, these trees will surpass the natural trees of getting Nutrients and water from soil.