Gender imbalance has long been a general phenomenon not only in the labor market but also in formal education. Some analysts argue that it is impossible to eliminate the underrepresentation of women in some subjects in the university.

Gender inequalities in the field of education and employment, is a controversial topic from the age of antiquity. Although participation of women in various roles which were once considered impossible has improved to a larger extend, the notion that certain areas is still impossible for women is still prevalent. Though I agree that women are not adequately represented in fewer courses, at the same time, I also believe that with proper awareness and training, a solution to this can be brought. Nowadays, women are very proactive in finding a suitable employment and contributing financially to the family. However, there is an underepresentation of women in certain courses like mechanical engineering, aeronautical engineering in the universities. This could be due to the physical demands of the course. Though it is proven that men are physically stronger than women, there are instances where women, through systematic training have shown power equivalent to any man. For example, in an article published in The Hindu last Friday, it was reported that a 23 year old woman lifted the same amount of weight as compared to a 23 year old man in a weightlifting competition held in Surat. So it is clear that it is not the matter of muscle power, but the training. If certain credits is allotted while studying to physical training, especially in courses which require manual work, this would improve the enrolment rates of women to a larger extend. Another reason could also be the lack of awareness or motivation to join such programs. A good knowledge about the course and the job prospects could make a large difference to the women's attitude towards these kinds of jobs. Brochures, which highlights special provisions for women during the course would provide them the confidence to apply for such studies. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that it is impossible to eliminate reduced representation of ladies in certain courses. On the contrary, it is the responsibility of the educational system to attract more women candidates to the courses by supporting them with necessary trainings and clear information.