Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.

Fossil fuels have been considered as a major power source by many nations till date. However, some countries have shifted towards natural sources, such as wind and sun. In my view, it is a positive development and will discuss why alternate sources are a boon. To begin with, the fossil fuels are non-renewable sources of energy because they cannot be reused if used once. Moreover, they are being over exploited these days, which will lead to their complete exhaustion in coming time. This arises the need of alternative power which could completely replace them in future. In addition to, the burning of fuels produces exhausting fumes which enter into the atmosphere and deteriorate the air quality. To illustrate, according to an official report of the US energy administration, 76% of greenhouse gas emissions are solely due to burning of fossil fuels to produce electricity. Despite the higher costs of installation of alternate resources of power, they are cost saving and efficient over the longer duration of time. The major advantage of using them is that they are eco-friendly. In other words, they produce clean and green energy with no wastage. Furthermore, they are the renewable resources which can be utilised again and again and can be replenished. Another important point to be considered is that sources of non-conventional potential, such as solar, tidal and hydroelectric are natural, therefore, they are available in all geographical locations. In conclusion, it can be rightly said that the fossil fuels should be replaced by alternative ways as they are non-renewable and pollutes the environment. In my opinion, it is worthwhile to use renewable resources because they are both sustainable and environmental friendly.