Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to globalization, it is now quite easy for the people to purchase food items from their nearby markets. Some people think that food should be bought directly from farmers, as this would be beneficial for both the environment and the locals. The benefits of this idea exceed the drawbacks, as discussed in this essay. Firstly, during the process of transportation from farms to consumers, the food products undergo various modifications which alter their freshness. For example, in order to preserve the taste and essence of fruits and vegetables, some vendors use artificial shining sprays over them. Although, this increases the sell of these products, as they look more attractive and smell tasty, but they lose their natural taste and nutrients during this alteration. Moreover, farmers are not paid the actual amount of money which they deserve. This is because, they are double-crossed and blackmailed by the goods dealers that they would not help them transfer their products and would leave them to rot, if they ask for more money. On the other hand, if people buy food directly from farms they would be able to get them in the most nutritious form. For instance, buying dairy products and poultry items from farms, protects the people from the unhealthy materials used during processing of such items. Furthermore, this would immensely boost the economy of local businesses. Additionally, less vehicles used during travelling of food means, there would be less consumption of fuel and a decrease in air pollution. To sum up, if customers start buying food from the local farmers, they could be hugely benefited from the healthy and pure products, as they would stay away from the hazards of artificial sweeteners and paints. Similarly, the farmers get an advantage of improving their living standards and the environment also stays clean, due to the decrease in heavy traffic on roads.