In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree? v. 109

The growing number of person are suffering from lifestyle diseases by the heavy consumption of junk food. Therefore, some individuals think that the government should levy a high tariff on this kind of food. This essay agrees that it is essential to charge a high tariff on junk food because most people can’t effort to buy and money collected can be used for treatment. By imposing a high tax on junk food, the maximum number of people won’t be able to buy. In other words, while levying more tax on the food, naturally, the price for the item will get higher and therefore, most people don’t prefer buying those items. For instance, this year, with the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic, most imports from other countries had to be banned, while with the limited numbers of cigarette in the stock, price got dramatically increased and therefore, most of my friends in the community stopped buying. The money collected from wealthy individuals who effort to buy such items with higher tax can treat a patient suffering from the diseases. That is to say, the tax paid by those consumers will be meaningfully spent on buying medicine to cure those who suffered from lifestyle diseases. For example, In Bhutan, the government used the money collected from the bar as tax to buy medical equipment for treating alcohol-related patients. In conclusion, with the higher tax imposed on junk food, the people will prefer buying less priced other necessity items rather consuming highly-priced harmful items and moreover, the tariff charged by the government can be of significant use for the patient affected by this dangerous food.