Food can be produced more cheaply today because of improved fertilisers and better machinery. However, some people argue that such development may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities.

There is a growing concern as the standard weight of individuals in few nations is rising while the levels of well-being and health are diminishing. In my opinion, several causes such as diet, and lifestyle can be attributed to this problem, although solutions to the same will be discussed in this essay. For human beings the Body Mass Index or BMI is of vital importance, as it determines the physical health of a person. Mankind is programmed to have feelings of hunger, and thirst due to which he consumes food. On a regular basis this may not seem worrisome, however constant consumption without control is a matter of concern. In current scenarios, overeating is becoming a global trend. For instance, America has a majority of obese people, and the blame is placed on fast food joints. Obesity has become the most grievous disease experienced by people in wealthy countries. The reasons are due to the availability of lavish foods, and sugary drinks people are unable to control their diet. They consume as much as they can, and even more. For example, people on a cruise are relaxing while filling their bellies with junk that will make them suffer later. Obese people find it difficult to monitor healthy body weight hence they end up with numerous body problems, or worst of them all heart attacks! The scientist has often pointed out that soft drinks, burgers, and pizzas for youth, and children make them lethargic. When these adolescents grow up they follow the same food routine. Nonetheless, this attitude cannot be carried out, as health is the basic requirement to stay alive. The solution to this problem is exercise. The act of swimming, gardening, cooking etc. Will help keep the body active. An active body loses out on the calories stacked up by the food one consumes. Another solution is monitoring one's diet. A simple plan to eat healthy can do wonders to the physical and mental health of a human being. In conclusion, it is necessary to take precautionary measures towards health before it's too late.