Food can be produced much more cheaply with the use of improved fertilisers and better machinery. However, some methods may be dangerous for human health and have negative effects on local communities.

Food production has become an effortless process, due to modern technology and fertilisers available now. However, there is a growing concern related to the perilous effect on humans and nature because of those farming methods. Perhaps the major advantage of intensive farming is the increased volume of food production worldwide. Although this is beneficial to alleviate food shortages, these food items are often confronted by low nutritional value and the presence of toxic substances. For instance, farmers use chemical fertilisers for growing faster and pesticides to prevent insect attacks, which is detrimental to human health. In the long run, this would cause the development of fatal diseases such as cancer, which people suffer from, today throughout the world. Furthermore, another significant impact is the deterioration of fertility in soil because of the constant usage of artificial fertilisers and pesticides. This is due to, it contains hazardous substances, and its effect will retain for a long time on land and water resources, while it applies continuously for a prolonged period. As a result, fertility would decline and it transforms the land as wasteland. Eventually, this would lead to an imbalance in the natural composition of soil and cause environmental damage. Nevertheless, advanced machinery and chemical manure guarantee a high yield to farmers, which is advantageous to flourish industrial farming and later to economic growth. However, the long-term consequences would make people suffer from diseases and lack of suitable land for farming. Overall, it seems to me that industrial farming is not a viable option to rely on in the long run. From the aforementioned reasons, it is clear that the drawbacks of modern farming outshine the benefits.