Films and games can be accessed at any time from mobile devices, like smartphones, tablets and laptop computers. Do the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, different types of entertainment, such as movies and video games, became easily accessible with the use of modern technology. In my opinion, I think this development can bring more benefits to the society compared to any problems it might bring. Despite the drawbacks below, I believe that having easy access to films and games through mobile devices is significantly beneficial to the society today. Firstly, entertainment is at our fingertips. In other words, people who are usually on the go will still have access to some form of fun and leisure. Secondly, waiting in line will not be as boring and mundane as it was before. A patient, for instance, waiting for his turn for his monthly check-up with a cardiologist, can now use his cellphone to pass the time by engaging himself in mobile games, such as Marvel Super War and Candy Crush. Such forms of entertainment help people improve their quality of life as it enables them to feel at ease and relax anytime and anywhere. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when films and games are easily accessible through modern technology. Because people can access such entertainment any time, they could get addicted to it, which is one of the problems this development could pose. According to recent studies by the health and gaming department of Electronic Arts, also known as EA, minority of teenagers get addicted to mobile games since mobile devices are present in every household. These children do gaming for more than twelve hours a day, which is considered detrimental to health. Another negative aspect is that people who access movies and video games readily and regularly, might have the tendency to not do their work or daily tasks due to the fact that their focus is solely on the entertainment their brains can digest. But these issues can easily be managed by exhibiting self-control, limiting the usage time of devices and, most of all, knowing one’s priorities. In conclusion, the improvement in the quality of life that society can acquire through easily accessible entertainment from mobile devices clearly outweighs the disadvantages.