1- Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax.

The beginning of the 21st century witnessed a proliferation of films and computer games. While both categories of digital entertainment were family friendly in the past, the modern editions have become violent and more popular. Although some fans are unperturbed by the unsavoury effects of violence on the society, I believe this genre is inappropriate and should be banned. There are various ways in which violence is depicted in films and computer games. These ranges from the actors attacking each other to inflict injuries to mob attacks, gun battles and fatal explosions. In some extreme cases, there are incidents of torments and bloody gruesome murders. Some of the people who enjoy these forms of entertainment choose to applaud the creativity of the writer and actors rather than question their own sanity. They believe that, like any other genre, namely: romance or adventure, violent content are works of fiction incapable of negatively influencing the consumers. Despite the unavailability of scientific studies to collaborate these assertions, ardent viewers of these rated content have often said the fear they experience releases special hormones in the brain. These hormones are said to induce sleep and ultimately aid their relaxation. Traditionally, women are opposed to violent films and games, hence they put up campaigns to ban related materials. These campaigns are premised on the fact that continuous exposure to evil acts desensitizes people from exhibiting positive personality traits such as kindness, gentleness and empathy. Women worry that children exposed to vicious behaviour will grow up to become irresponsible adult incapable of living normal lives. In my opinion, the advocacy by these women to ban violent films and computer games must be taken seriously if we are to reduce the percentage of children who grow up to become dysfunctional adults. It will be a step in the right direction to reduce the societal crime rate and build a nation where citizens are guided by the right values.