Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their hand writing skills Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantages of this trend

Some educational institutes expect children to grasp and upgrade their writing dexterity. While there are several advantages for improving handwriting, but there are also few disadvantages that needs to be taken into account. To consider the advantages, handwriting is a basic tool in many subjects. Because, they are used to perform tests, taking notes, and writing homework. For example, during exams if the written script is illegible, then it would result in lower marks. As a result, legible handwriting would result in good performance. Additionally, there is a link between cognition and writing by hand. Certainly, children learn better when they are forced to write by hand rather than type. Finally, a good handwriting skill implicates high performance and better learning. On the other hand, the disadvantage of longhand is time consuming. since, technology has been improved and moved towards touch-typing, conventional writing methods would consume more time. For instance, in touch-typing there is a auto-correct and spell check functionality which help to make the writing more legible and complete on-time. Moreover, in writing, paper used exorbitantly. To perform all manual written tasks, ample amount of papers were used. For instance, a recent survey conducted on conservation of natural resources, provided a shocking report that around 67% of trees were cut down each year by paper production industries. Consequently, exploitation of natural resources increased. To conclude, even though our performance rely on handwriting, the negative impacts like a waste of time and natural materials are high. So, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages here.