Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Children need to spend a great deal of time to achieve good handwriting skill. Many schools these days do not pay attention to this skill. There are several advantages and disadvantages of this trend. To commence with, writing is an art that stimulates the brain. If children write what they are trying to learn, then they can learn faster because it improves the concentration level. In addition to this, it is linked with the learning spelling, reading and grammar. This improves the cognitive and linguistic abilities of a child and can prove to be helpful in certain circumstances. For instance, when there is a network failure during an exam and needs to be conducted offline, it can come handy and improve grades. Upon growing, having good handwriting can be very helpful in some conditions. To illustrate, it can help in impressing someone from the opposite gender, by showing off these artistic skills. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to it. Firstly, the time spent on teaching it can be spent on other useful subjects, which matter when a child grows up such as computers, mathematics etc. , as they enhance the chances of getting a job. Secondly, it is linked to enhancing the spelling, grammar and reading abilities, but there are already technological solutions to this. For example, there are multiple spell and grammar checking and vocabulary softwares available, for example- the Grammarly, voice etc. To conclude, improving handwriting skills in the school may have both advantages and disadvantages, but the benefits supersede its drawbacks. This skill is here to stay, and thus, acquiring it can be helpful to many.