Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Every organisation is more likely to know the skillset of the individual, who is a part of it through some evaluations and giving feedback. Despite, most of them are not likely to get evaluated. Causes of this problem are due to the consequences of being evaluated which include comparisons, humiliation, discouragement. Regular consulting and motivation on completion of evaluation could solve this issue. Being evaluated is opposed by many individuals because of several reasons. Firstly, comparisons are made on the basis of the results of the evaluation. In addition, single feedback cannot decide a person's ability or skillset. For example, A worker might work for hours with commitment and contribute a lot to the organisation, but, on the evaluation day may not give his best due to some health issue. In the above situation, even though, a person works best might get negative feedback. Secondly, Humiliation due to bad results could make a bad impact on a student. To illustrate, a student is best in sports and is a below-average in studies could be humiliated by his test results by other students. Lastly, discouragement is another major factor that affects a student or employee. In some case, even though with great efforts, students or workers cannot achieve good results because of mistakes in evaluation lead to discouragement and affects them mentally. In this case, the solution to the above problem is regular consulting and encouraging the employees once the evaluation is done and feedback is given. Moreover, Motivating and discussing about the mistakes could solve this issue. For instance, if it is a maths test and the student is weak in trigonometry can be suggested to work more on that topic. To conclude, Although Evaluation and feedback can be useful to the organisation, many individuals are unlikely to be evaluated due to its consequences like comparisons and many more which can be easily addressed by letting the people know where they must be improved.