Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling.

One of the biggest boons of technology is the improvement in the means of communication. Arrival of tools for communication over the internet has really shrunk the world, but has led to debates on whether the text communication happening through such tools result in death of grammar and spelling. I disagree with this thought and explained my views in the following paragraphs Firstly, most of these text messaging applications come with a limit on the number of letters which makes the users focus only on the key message rather than on the correctness in grammar and spelling. For example, Twitter imposes a limit of 140 letters in the message which is too low to compose a message. The same happens with short messaging services provided by the telecom operators and the user have to pay more if they exceed this word limit and hence users have to send only the key part of the message keeping it short. Secondly, this fear has got very little to do with the latest online messaging systems. The restrictions on keeping the instant communication short is there since the time of telegrams. Telegrams also carried similar restrictions and yet helped people send clear and important messages faster. These new forms of online communication are nothing but a digital version of the telegram. In conclusion, using sentences without proper grammar and short forms of words are a necessary evolution for such tools because of these constraints. In places where users do not require an instant response, such as emails, they follow proper grammatical syntaxes and the spellings and hence it need not be considered to be a threat to the language.